Tragically Multitudinous Leaders of Bolivia

Bolivia has enjoyed nearly 190 years of independence from Spain. Unfortunately, leadership of the country during those years may be best defined as “tumultuous.”

Violence, coups, and civil wars have been far too common place throughout the nation’s story, as evidenced by the sheer number of leaders who have carried the burden of authority in the landlocked country.

Statistically, the nation has had a new leader every 2 years and 4 months since independence in 1825; a total of 80 leaders in 180 years. In the period from inception on the 11th of August, 1825 until May 24th 1829, Bolivia churned through no fewer than 6 leaders in fewer years.

As first leader and namesake of the country, Simón Bolívar lasted a mere 4 months as “Liberator of Bolivia.”

For perspective, the United States has enjoyed a new leader every 5 years 1 month from George Washington, to George W Bush’s last day in office.

Current President Evo Morales is smashing the statistical forecasts on the longevity for his administration at six years and running.

Share your thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s